1: Gefion (Jakob Bro), 08:34
2: Oktober (Jakob Bro), 07:26
3: Returnings (Jakob Bro, Palle Mikkelborg), 08:36
4: Strands (Jakob Bro) 11:48
5: Youth (Palle Mikkelborg) 07:32
6: Lyskaster (Jakob Bro) 02:57

Featured artist:

Palle Mikkelborg (Trumpet, Flugelhorn)
Jakob Bro (Guitar)
Marilyn Mazur (Percussion)

Recorded in February 2023, Danish Radio Concert Hall, Copenhagen.

ECM Records: „When we walked out on stage it felt like a homecoming,” says Jakob Bro of this texturally spacious and emotionally charged live recording from Copenhagen, on which three of the defining protagonists of improvisation in Denmark, leading musicians from three generations of Danish jazz, come together. The concert, in February 2023, was particularly poignant since it marked a return to performance for trumpeter Palle Mikkelborg, who delivers some of his most thoughtful playing here. Repertoire, drawn from Jakob Bro’s Returnings and Gefion albums, is addressed in spontaneous and exploratory spirit, and transformed as Marilyn Mazur’s subtle percussion language of blossoming gongs and metals and rumbling drums blends with Bro’s drifting and rippling washes of sound. The music’s atmospheric qualities, as well its eruptive moments, are enhanced by the resonant acoustics of the Danish Radio Concert Hall.

Buy/stream: https://ecm.lnk.to/Strands